## **Dandenong District Roads Board**

The first local government administration body was the Dandenong District Roads Board which functioned from 1862 to 1873.

The Shire of Dandenong was constituted on 7 May 1873. The members of the Dandenong District Roads Board automatically became the members of the first Council.

Both Springvale and Dandenong were governed by the Dandenong District Roads Board and then the Shire of Dandenong until 1955, when Springvale and Noble Park split from the Shire of Dandenong to form the Shire of Springvale and Noble Park.

## **Dandenong District Roads Board members 1862-1873**

- 1872-1873 Smart, William Edward
- 1872-1873 McMahon, Jason
- 1872-1873 Keys, Thomas
- 1871-1873 Orgill, John
- 1870-1873 Hemmings, John
- 1870-1873 Daly, Charles
- 1869-1873 Kennelly, John
- 1869-1873 Powis, Henry
- 1869 Calder, Henry
- 1869-1870 Bowman, Alexander Watt
- 1867-1873 Brennan, John
- 1867-1873 Smithson, Sydney
- 1867-1869 Ellis, E.S
- 1866-1867 Rosling, Thomas
- 1865-1872 Keys, William
- 1863-1867 Potter, Obadiah
- 1863-1872 Chandler, Joseph
- 1863-1870 Huckson, Robert
- 1862-1867 Hughes, George
- 1862-1863 Wilson, Henry
- 1862-1865 Keys, Isaac
- 1862-1863, Attenborough, Thomas
- 1862-1863, 1869-1871 Greaves, John
- 1862-1863 Tootal, Alfred D
- 1862-1863 Fletcher, R B
- 1862-1863 Dunbar, George

